top of page
Search
  • Hannah Bruce Opris

Volunteer Experiences

Updated: Nov 7, 2020

Throughout my undergraduate adventure, I have been fortunate to be able to participate in a number of experiences in which I could give back to others in my community. Some of these experiences include:

  • The Magic Yarn Project is a volunteer-based organization that creates wigs for children who are cancer patients. The wigs are hand made with yarn, knitting needles and other supplies. As a member of the organization, there is access to more wig tutorials. I have helped put together wigs, decorative pieces, and decorative envelopes.

  • Project Downtown is an organization based in the area of downtown Miami. It helps to provide the homeless with food, clothing, and other donations. I have assisted in the passing out of food and clothes on a bimonthly basis.

  • Relay for Life is an organization that raises money for cancer research. FIU hosts a large event in the evening where all of the school’s clubs and organizations create booths to help raise money for the cause. I assisted at two booths on the evening of the event as well as in various fundraisers in preparation for the event by making baked goods to sell.

  • At the Eliem Pentecostal Church of God, I have assisted the Sunday School Class for ages three to five on a weekly basis by cutting out crafting pieces, serving snacks, and assisting as needed.

  • As a Florida International University Pre-Health Office Peer Advisor I have worked on assisting Pre-Health Students with information, appointments and general questions. As well as assisting FIU Pre-Health Advisors with appointments, events and as needed.

  • As part of the intern position at the PLTL FIU Program, I taught two sections of around ten to fifteen students in the subject of, Biology 2 on a weekly basis. In my third and upcoming semester I will be teaching two sections. As part of the PLTL program offered at FIU, I have supervised other Peer Leaders and filled out performance surveys to ensure that all students in the program are getting the best section possible.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page